Undressed

I’m a bit on the squeamish side when it comes to injuries, especially my own, so I asked the Breast Care Nurse to remove my dressing rather than go through my GP’s practice nurse or do it myself.pink-butterfly
One of the things about health issues that is seriously lacking in this country is the continuance of care.  I am rarely ill, and for something like breast cancer, I want to see familiar faces and build up a relationship with my doctors and carers. It helps me cope seeing them as ‘friends’ and also I want to be told how it is, not pussy footed around with niceties.
As she was removing the clingfilm type dressing, I was happily filling her in on doing my exercises and how I felt in general, carefully keeping my eyes averted from where she was working.
‘That’s lovely,’ she said, sitting back with a big smile as I tentatively looked down.

I must be one of the jammiest people alive.
Apart from a thin pencil-like line, you would never know I’d had surgery a week ago.
It’s a credit to my Consultant Surgeon how tidy the wound was, and the fact that there is no puckering, no swelling, no pin prick dots or scarring (dissolvable stitches) and no jagged weeping area.
Hubby couldn’t believe it, and said he has never known anyone heal as quickly as I do.
(I’m the type of gal who has a tooth out but doesn’t have a mouthful of blood or clot the following day. By day two, I’d be eating normally with no tenderness, and the remaining tooth guys would pull together to close the gap, so my extracted tooth was a ‘myth’ rather than missing.)

My only remaining smurf likeness is a blue nipple which I am likely to have for a while.
The wire they inserted to react to the blue dye was removed along with Humphrey and a couple of lymph nodes, so I don’t have to worry about that, and tomorrow I can have a shower (Hurrah!) and begin my stretchy exercises.
The sports bras are recommended day and night for another week, and then next Wednesday (16th) I shall see my nurse and Consultant to discuss how we move on.

Colin’s comments in my Monday Positivity post had me laughing, so my friend, these are for you (but they’re a bit off target).
booby-bird

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in diary, health, humour and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Undressed

  1. Ritu says:

    Bless you! I’m glad you’re healing well!!!!

  2. I am like you. I never want to look at my own wound. My incision was under my breast so I couldn’t see it and my husband had to dress it. The incision was kept open for 2 weeks with a balloon catheter hanging (which especially made me squeamish!). I was surprised at how fast it healed after that came out. I had to have a second surgery to take more tissue out so I have a weird looking left boob. Since it’s not on display, I really don’t care.

    • I don’t know if they’ll have to go back in yet, but if they do, they do. Sounds like you had a rough time. My incision is under the arm. Thank you for all your support and positivity on this. I can’t say enough how much it’s appreciated.

      • I always appreciated hearing from people who went through it. There is something special about a shared experience even if it isn’t one you chose.

      • You are so right. It helps with dealing with it, to know you’re not alone, and that what you are experiencing is ‘normal’ and not just because the medical professionals are telling you so. Hubby has been marvellous, and the support here on WP tremendous too. ❤

  3. Wishing you a continued speedy recovery!! xx

  4. Elyse says:

    Good healing to you. And Good health!

  5. colinandray says:

    They’re dancing to “Love is blue” !!!! Good one! 🙂

  6. lbeth1950 says:

    Wonder if a blue nipple fetish guy is reading this post?

  7. Am so glad to hear you’re feeling much better 🙂

Leave a Reply

