A Meal fit for a Queen

I have to be honest, I didn’t know what to expect after my Op and was quite pleased about how well I felt and how much I was able to do.
Lifting is out of course, as is sweeping through the boat, but I can manage to make a cup of tea, and drinking it is actually good exercise as I’m right handed.
Today, I walked round the Avenue with Maggie rather than just up to the dog walk or gate, so I’m trying to get back into the swing of walking.
Preparing a meal is a bit touch and go though,  so Hubby is in charge of the kitchen.

He admits to being surprised at how active I’ve been after surgery, but now everything seems to be catching up with me and I’m feeling exhausted by midday! The bruises are all coming out and it’s painful to wear my watch as it presses against where they put the tube in my wrist after failing to find entry through the back of my hand, twice (not their fault).
I went back to bed yesterday afternoon and slept for three hours, even though I’d had a good night’s sleep. I had another last night, but again felt tired by early afternoon, and occasionally experience an unpleasant pinching sensation. The exercises help, so I’m doing those at least three times a day, and the dressing is due to come off on Monday so I can ask the Cancer Support Nurse some questions then if necessary. My follow up with the Consultant is on the 16th.
Hubby reckons I’m about 48 hours behind everyone else with the after effects from a full anaesthetic. Oh well, I never said I was normal.

chinese foodThe best way to ‘build me up’ is feed me, and I can truly say my appetite is not affected.
I was really disappointed not to be able to have a chinese takeout Monday evening when I came home (I’d been looking forward to crispy seaweed, sweet and sour chicken, rice and prawn crackers for hours), but the pizza was good, even if it was taboo.

Sugar fixes come in various shapes and sizes (large would be nice) but I am trying to be sensible and not succumb too much in that direction. OK, a little treat every day this week.

raspberry meringue ginger-meringue-nests

I was weighed and measured on Monday and it looked like I’d lost a couple of pounds from SW’s last weigh in. Mind you, I hadn’t eaten or drunk anything since midnight, so that was probably why.

Feeling tired suggests a lack of iron and so, rather than chew on rusty nails or golf clubs, we resorted to plan B, reliving memories of that very first meal Hubby cooked for me over twenty seven years ago.

Liver and bacon.
Yum.
No cabbage or mash this time, instead a small bag of sprouts and boiled potatoes done in the pressure cooker. We’ll be fragrant later.
Gravy to die for, onions, and mushrooms to boot.
What else could I do but clean my plate? Maggie was not impressed. Sorry girl. ❤

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in food, health, My life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Meal fit for a Queen

  1. foguth says:

    Very, very glad to hear this … and am continuing to pray for your recovery.

  2. Glad that you are recuperating so well. Being tired is normal. Your body uses energy to heal. Your husband is definitely a keeper. You are eating well.

  3. scifihammy says:

    I think it’s great you are being as active as possible, and I wouldn’t worry about suddenly being tired. Everyone responds differently to anaesthesia. Rest when you need to – you’ll recover quicker. And a little of what you fancy will do you good! You can get back on track with SW later.

  4. Poor Maggie, not getting any leftovers! Choppy knows that problem well!

  5. Wishing you a speedy recovery … xx

Leave a Reply

