Shopping Crash!

This hospital lark is bloody expensive!
Hubby has already bought me my sports bras for thirty notes, I got two button down tops for £12, and a pair of smaller sized jogging trousers for less than a fiver.
Reading some of the supportive comments since my diagnosis, we went shopping today for something else.

It was a nightmare, not because of shopping, but because of PAYING.
The shop’s card paying system crashed, and in the end, they had to reboot it, which they said would take about 10 minutes.
We couldn’t even go and have a cup of coffee, despite having cash, as the entire system was down, and no-one could open a till, let alone process anything.

Staff were hurrying between the checkout queues with tubs of chocolates to pacify heated customers, and when things did start up again, we discovered we were in the queue from hell.
The first woman was so slow, paint dried quicker.
The second was a guy stocking up on booze and had to have all ten of the bottles in his cart overwritten and approved separately amidst the rest of his shopping.
The third was a Mum experienced in getting through the task quickly, putting items that weren’t recognised by the bar coder to one side and everything that was out of the way. The assistant came and sorted out the rejected items, and she was done and dusted in about 10 minutes.
The lad in front of us was a nervous wreck. I don’t think it helped that Hubby was gnashing his teeth in frustration and considerable pain having to stand up in one place for so long, and I was fascinated as to the number of tins of mackerel, lumps of cheese, cans of coke, crisps and other goodies he was processing. His total bill was almost £70.
Hurrah, it was us next, and we had a plan. The garments were off the hangers, our own bags waiting in the wings, and we were off.
Scan, Scan, Scan, Scan, no problem.
Dog food…………”cashier’s assistance required” a disembodied voice announced.
WTF?
A very harassed young lady came to our aid, flashed her card then hurried off to the next customer, just as a box of tea bags was tossed over someone’s shoulder who’d had enough and stormed out.

It had taken us just 10 minutes to select our purchases but over an hour in the queue to pay for them.

Hubby is a gem, and has footed the bill (again), this time fifty smackeroonies.
I now have a nice fluffy pair of slippers, two zip up tops with hoods and long sleeves and a Starsky Cardy.

The latter has no buttons or zips, and is just a wrap around, but it is thick and warm, easy to get on and off, and I can wear it over the zip tops when I go to the hospital for follow-up appointments and examinations.

Even better is that I will wear them anyway, so the money hasn’t been wasted.
Funny how Hubby has got his way afterall about buying me a new wardrobe!

No images in this post I’m afraid as we’re having problems with our wifi server again and I’m trying to get my posts in before it all goes off again.

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in shopping and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Shopping Crash!

  1. It must have been very frustrating for the clerks and they had to stay had to stay polite.

  2. scifihammy says:

    Ah it’s important to feel comfy when in hospital, but pity about the long wait to pay.

  3. Barb Knowles says:

    We have a snow day today (they are called snow days but it’s actually freezing rain) so school is closed. I’m taking advantage to write and to catch up on posts I’ve missed. Smart idea about the clothes. When I had my shoulder surgery (not trying to compare to yours which was much worse) for over 8 weeks I couldn’t button, snap, zip, tie, etc. I had to buy so many new clothes. We take that ability for granted. Over-sized sweat pants and nicer slacks with elastic waistbands that I could pull on and off with one hand. So the additions to the wardrobe were nice because I could also wear most on weekends, etc.

    • I’ve done pretty well with some new gear, and with the wedding in July, both of us will need to kit ourselves out ‘real posh’. I will also need shoes, another pain, as trainers, green wellies or mud boots don’t exactly go with a frock!

      • Barb Knowles says:

        Shoes are always the worst part. I don’t wear heels anymore and think most wedding appropriate shoes are uncomfortable and not as attractive as heels. Which are also uncomfortable, lol.

Leave a Reply

