Now we know…………..

I had my second appointment with the Consultant Surgeon today and ‘Humphrey’s’ days are numbered. He will be accompanied by a lymph node or two just to play safe, and I’ll have a blue boob for a few days thanks to the dye they’re going to inject into me.
Seems I shall be auditioning for the Smurfs.
smurfsSurgery has been scheduled for Monday, it will be a day job, and I’ll be home by evening.

Lots of good and positive things were discussed today and I am going to be fine.
Classed as Stage 1, after surgery I’ll have radiotherapy and anti oestrogen pills, have simple not-too-strenuous exercises to do, and will get out of have to avoid housework, heavy lifting, carrying of shopping etc for a while.
We are both relieved that ‘Humphrey’ is so common and that he’s being dealt with so quickly .

I rang my Mum to tell her I was going into hospital for routine surgery next week and would be out the same day. I said it was something I had been waiting for and that it was nothing to worry about.  Although my sister answered the phone, I asked to speak to Mum, and then asked her to tell Sis! I left Mum on a high note, having a laugh, so all being well she shouldn’t worry about me, which is as I wanted it.

Allowing for the 12 hour difference, I also called Bro and filled him in as I’d promised.
I could hear the relief in his voice too   ❤ ❤

I do have a little problem though……………….
Tomorrow we are going to have to go shopping in the next major town (where I got my shoes) for suitable bras as the ones I own won’t be supportive enough.
We tried locally today and came back empty handed. Sports bras had been recommended but could we find some in my size?
That’ll be a No then.
I also need to have a nightie that will give easy access to chest and armpit, not one that goes over my head.
AAAAAArrrrrrgh! You all know how much I hate shopping!!!!!!!
pink-ribbon

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in Challenge, clothes, health, My life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Now we know…………..

  1. foguth says:

    I am very happy to hear that this will virtually be an outpatient event.. . Stage 1 is far better than I dared hope for you. Such a shame that you will need to give up the joys of housework, heavy lifting, and shopping for a while….

    • I am relieved too, and will be glad when the surgery is done so that I can prepare for the next bit. Exercises are going to be fun……….. no space to stretch out or up on the boat! I’ll improvise though.

      • foguth says:

        Have you heard of Callanetics? They are deep muscle toning exercises that are extremely effective (I started doing them 30+ years ago) and they don’t require a lot of space.

      • I have indeed, but not tried them. I have a sheet from the hospital as the exercises are designed for anyone who has had breast surgery. Thanks for the thought.

      • foguth says:

        If/when you decide to try them, realize that they look deceptively easy. They are anything but easy, though the results are worth the effort (and cold sweat).

  2. From my experience with radiation, you need button or zip front tops too. You may already have ones that you can use. I was given a bra after my surgery. I wasn’t all that comfortable but it had easy access to the surgical wounds. All this is very good indeed! Sounds exactly like what I had with the same treatment. Glad you are going in soon. No point in waiting!

  3. stevetanham says:

    Thinking of you. Best wishes x.

  4. Tara R. says:

    You’ve got this! Take care of yourself and keep being so positive.

  5. Bernadette says:

    Good news, sorta. Keep your plosives attitude. It will speed your recovery.

  6. Bernadette says:

    Good news. Keep your positive attitude, it will speed your recovery.

  7. scifihammy says:

    What a relief to find out it is a common complaint and treated reasonably easily.
    Lots and lots of rest and Maggie cuddles recommended. 🙂

Leave a Reply

