Better late than never!

Technology is amazing.
I see adverts for watching yourself as you type/email, streamlining your work, talking to people face to face who are halfway round the world, logging on to a never ending database to answer all of your questions, and the latest telephone technology is, well, WOW.

mobilesOr not.

My little Nokia is about 20 years old and apart from a cracked face and a dodgy rubber keypad is doing just fine thank you very much.
It makes and receives calls and texts, all that a technophobe like me needs a phone for, and doesn’t cost an arm and a leg to feed.
Hubby also has a mobile that does the basics, though this is about his fifth one as he has a thing about putting them in the washing machine or dropping them in the river.
The last one started to receive the dreaded PPI cold calls after a few days, and when the caller was asked how they got our number, we were told it was in their system.
‘Under what name?’ we asked.
‘Yours.’ came the reply.
‘Which is?’ we persisted.
‘The one in our system.’
Telling them straight and none too politely that it was impossible, we hung up.
Hubby lost the use of that phone shortly thereafter, so with this newest one, we have only let 2 people know it.

singing duckWe had a very pretty trilling noise come from Hubby’s coat pocket this morning, and on extraction discovered a message to say he had VOICEMAIL.
A disjointed voice said to ring a particular number, which turned out to be our doctor’s surgery (one of the favoured two).
It took several options to get to talk to an individual, who had no record on her system of someone wanting to talk to him. He has no appointments pending, no results due in, and apart from an INR blood test which is due to be booked at the beginning of the month, nothing else is outstanding.
So he asked if it was something to do with me.
This also turned out to be negative, though I was asked if I had spoken to a doctor at the end of September about my  blood pressure medication. Which I had, and it was for me to discontinue with it.
As the other business is coming directly from the hospital, we have no idea why anyone at the surgery would want to contact us, so a message has been put on both of our notes that we have responded to the voicemail, but nothing being known as to why we were requested to do so.
ear trumpetHubby passed his phone over to me to listen to the message for myself.
These annoying computerized voice systems are incoherent and unclear, but I did manage to hear the date the message was recorded and left.  Which was ……..   29th September.
Pretty terrific stuff eh? Good job it wasn’t something important then.

Note:
Neither of our phones have been turned off for periods more than a few hours, even when recharging.

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in diary, humour, Just a thought and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Better late than never!

  1. colinandray says:

    I still don’t have a mobile phone, and not only am I surviving very well, but I am saving a lot of money based on what some people are paying monthly! 🙂

  2. I am so reliant on my phone, I rarely turn it off. At least twice I have had to call customer service to ask why I’m getting messages or voicemails long after they were sent/left and been asked the same question: “When was the last time you turned off your phone?” Apparently, you should sometimes turn the things off.

    Also? It is probably not healthy that I am so reliant on the thing that I forgot the advice I got the first time and had to call again on it (though both those occasions were at least ten years ago, so at least I eventually learned).

Leave a Reply

