There’s no ‘E’ in mail.

Following on from my card post yesterday got me thinking about Mail.
Hubby and I have a residential mooring here, which means we have the permanent address necessary for the boring Red Tape required for Taxation, Banking, and proof of existence (ie. a mail box in the laundry with our name on it).
It’s actually handy should a parcel be delivered if we’re not here as it’s signed for in the office and a note put in our box letting us know.

In truth, we don’t get a lot of mail…… other than from the Tax Man, Bank and Council.

mail delivery
I used to love finding a letter on the doormat when it wasn’t my birthday or Christmas.
As a kid, I was always encouraged to write Thank You letters, which I still do actually, and as a school girl, I had penfriends in a variety of countries. I was also a regular at answering articles in the paper for our Service People abroad to get letters from home. Surprisingly, Hubby was in the queue to take such a letter out of the box when he was in The Falklands, but it was the guy in front of him who picked out mine. Small world.

Every year, I write a newsletter to enclose with my Christmas cards, sending them off to my elderly Aunt and an Uncle on my father’s side of the family and an Uncle on my mother’s. I also send to a few friends from my working life, some going back almost 40 years. All of them are of the age when a letter is of special importance, a contact from someone who is not asking for bill payment or donations, even if it is only an annual correspondence.

My postal list is shortened again this year.
Sadly, some special people have now left us, but in the main it’s because I have had no contact from them in over two years.
I purchased a dozen second class and 6 first class stamps a little while ago, and the cost was almost a week’s shopping. But for me, it’s not a costing exercise, but the fact that someone is prepared to take the time to put a few words on paper, seal it in an envelope and drop it in the mail.
mailIt could mean so much.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in diary, Opinions, Personal Thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to There’s no ‘E’ in mail.

  1. colinandrayc says:

    I have always encouraged my two kids to write something in birthday and christmas cards. Any fool can buy a card with a printed message inside and just add their name, but something that says “I put a little thought and effort into this” means so much. It worked very well with my daughter as she writes a short book in her cards! My son is… well, the thoughts go little further than an email!
    It is a shame that technology is seen to replace that personal touch. I have a box of special cards that I have often read through to recount certain periods of our history. Those who solely use email will never have that pleasure. Will the world really become so impersonal, or will perspectives simply change as to what personal means I wonder. Perhaps society will become so self-centered that simply getting an email will be a cause for smiles. “Look dear! We got an email on our wedding anniversary from your sister. She is just so thoughtful!” 🙂

    • Email and Ecards are all very well, but lack the personal touch imo. I suppose that’s why I enjoy making my cards so much, as I’m sending a part of me with each one. My sister is so different and her kids, are, well, ’nuff said. I don’t even get emails, in response to mine, or otherwise. I did have a birthday card though.

      • colinandrayc says:

        I guess it was inevitable that the whole perspective on keeping in touch would change, but I wonder where on earth it is going. I can well imagine the social problems that stem from isolation, and the feelings of abandonment and insignificance etc will increase. Who knows, children born today may well look back on us with a degree of disdain and amusement “Did they really actually hand write messages, and then manually send them? That must have taken more than a whole day to deliver!”

      • We’ll probably all be born with microchips and just press a third nipple to send our thought messages direct.

  2. cindy knoke says:

    I can hear the hint of melancholy in your voice. It seems aging contains within it a slow process of withdrawal. Of course one can choose to remain intensely social, but I don’t want to, and possibly you don’t either, because a boat allows you to move and see and do new things. It allows you to become unmoored from your former life. This is good right? But also bittersweet at times.
    Plus, people just don’t use snail mail much anymore when email is faster and more convenient.

    • I have to admit no mail doesn’t bother me. No mail, no bills, right? Occasionally we get an email from someone we haven’t heard from in a while and it’s nice to catch up. I have contact with Bro in NZ via the phone or an email from SIL. We like our life here having made friends with people of all ages.
      Times have changed, and some of the ‘older generation’ prefer the old ways.

Leave a Reply

