Second Course: Weigh In Week Seven

Past the half way mark in my second course, and things are starting to slow down.
To be honest, I have been expecting this but still keeping to the plan, eating fresh fruit and veg every day, even sneaking in the occasional treat. I’ve been counting them as syns though, so haven’t exactly been cheating.

The week has been pretty good, and I’ve posted photos of some of our meals and desserts. The gooseberries were delicious, and by not adding sugar, gave the old tastebuds a twang or two which woke them up a bit!
taste budsTonight is SW’s Christmas Party.
Yes I know, sorry for swearing at you, but by all accounts it’s a chance for members to take something along in the SW range for others to try. Our Consultant has promised to provide some really tasty goodies!
Regular followers will know I usually make my meals and sauces from scratch, so going into a store to purchase a particular SW product is highy unlikely, especially as there is only one freezer store that stocks them and that is ten miles away. There is also the little issue that I don’t have a freezer.

To show willing and take part in the event, I’ve purchased a pack of Syn Free sausages.
At 50p each, that’s not a bad price as bangers go, my plan being to cook them all, have two for my dinner, then cut up the remaining four and take them along for tasting.
sw-sausagesAs usual, my plan went awry in the guise of Hubby who fancied 2 for his dinner as well, so I only had 2 to take to tasting. Sorry Class.
For our own taste test, they weren’t bad, though if they had 37% beef and 37% pork in them we missed it. On the plus side, they didn’t shrink or ooze fat into the pan when I dry-fried them, though it said on the pack they were best grilled or done in the oven. They had plenty of flavour especially garlic (vampires take note they’d be no good for you), and went very well with my salad, mixed peppers and mushrooms. Hubby had the more traditional beans and mash with his.

Would I buy them again? Doubtful to be honest.
Not because of taste (we both gave them a good 8 for savoury flavour), but because of accessibility in going to a shop where I don’t usually go in a town where I don’t usually shop, and they are a limited edition anyway. Value for money? Probably, provided you’re not expecting a meaty sausage.

Weigh in will be beforehand rather than after, so I can join in with the nibbles.
So the question as always is, how did I do?
Did the Floss cross off my loss, or have the scales been kind with me in mind?

Hurrah, another one and a half pounds off, so I am well pleased.
N lost a whopping 5lbs this week gaining her 3½ stone certificate. She really is amazing.
C has reached target having yo-yo’d around for a few weeks, so she is equally pleased.
high fiveFood last night was a good variety, and I felt a little awkward with my 2 sausage offering. Still, I shall know what to expect if I’m still going next year, and will do better.
People had been busy making quiches, dips, brownies, shortbread, spicy roast potatoes, muffins, stuffing balls, pates, biscuits, mince pies, BLTs on cocktail sticks (idea for sausages nex year!), all made using the SW method or recipe, and with syn values listed.
I waited until everyone else had helped themselves, then went up to the table for a few samples. Syns were cancelled for the evening and everyone had a good time, picking up ideas and tips for tweaking boring old favourites into a new presentation.

Dare I say it?
Happy (un) Christmas everybody!

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in Weight Programme and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Second Course: Weigh In Week Seven

  1. The food exchange was a great idea. It’s helpful in varying the menus when you see what others do. You are still doing great! You go girl!

Leave a Reply

