I can’t afford fruit………..

A friend of ours hears this statement a lot, and each time it puts her back up.
For me, it’s not necessarily a case of not being able to afford it, but more refusing to pay the prices asked for it.
But I do see her point.
fruit saladLike everything else, we shop around.
There are bargains to be had (and rip offs too), but timing also plays a part, which is why I got 2 large punnets of strawberries the other day for a pound instead of £1.99 each.
Market stalls offer unsold produce for a song about half an hour before they start to pack up, and the grocer in the High Street puts a variety of fruit or veg in carrier bags and sells them off at two quid a go………….. ALL DAY.

You’ll probably hate me for this, but I have a question for you.
How much do you pay for a bag of crisps (potato chips)?
Over here, an individual bag of about 40g will set you back anything between 50 and eighty pence, with multipacks of 6 bags for around £2.50 to £3.
pringlesA small box of Pringles is £1 whereas the tall tubes are almost £2.
Yet an individual apple will cost 32p or thereabouts, or you can buy a bag of around 8 for £2 or less.

A 100g bar of chocolate can cost as little as 30p, but for a branded bar, you’re looking at over a pound. Go for a Twix, Double Decker, Crunchie or similar, and it’s upwards of 58p.
An individual kiwi fruit at the moment is 35p in the supermarket, but I bought a tray of 6 in the same supermarket for 58p.
muffinsA pack of 4 muffins are a pound. You can have the choice of blueberry, lemon, chocolate, double chocolate or triple chocolate, raspberry meringue flavour if you’re lucky.
Bananas are selling at 14p each, so four of those equate to 56p. I bought a bunch of five (no jokes please) yesterday for 53p.
(OK, I concede you can buy 5 doughnuts filled with jam, apple, custard or caramel for 50p)

Now I know kids can be faddy, and would much rather sink their teeth into crisps, cakes or chocolate instead of fruit, but ask yourself seriously:
Is it that you truly can’t afford to buy fruit, or that by habit, you simply don’t bother?
They don’t have to go without their sweet or savoury fixes, but who knows, maybe they’ll like fruit just as much, given the chance.

Just for interest, these were some familiar fruit prices in the supermarket today:
500g of seedless grapes (red or white) £1.19
400g of strawberries 99p
punnet 4 white flesh peaches 77p
punnet 4 nectarines 86p
Whole honeydew melons £1.35
Melon half portions £1.03
Grapefruit 45p each
Whole pineapples £1.50

Note:
I can only base my post on cost here in the UK. Fruit prices may well be gastronomic elsewhere and people are doing the best they can to feed their families.

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in food, health, Just a thought, Opinions and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to I can’t afford fruit………..

  1. Ritu says:

    It truly is an excuse we hear all the time …

  2. My issue with fruit is that I wish they would allow me to buy small quantities. I can get strawberries for a good price for a 2 lb. box but most of it will go bad before I can eat it. I wouldn’t mind paying a bit more but being able to buy what I could eat in 2 days. My husband only eats bananas, boring but cheap. I like buying apples because I can buy one or two. Still I love fruit and buy it. It’s still cheaper than meat here.

    • I know they tend to go a bit mushy, but could you freeze your strawberries and use them in a smoothie or something at a later date? Seedless grapes over here at the moment are a good price and we both eat them, as we do bananas. Strawberries, raspberries,peaches, melon and kiwi are all mine though!

      • I did freeze some strawberries but I love them in salads. Years ago they would let you pick from a bin but I suppose there was too much waste as people mushed them up. At least raspberries and blackberries which are very expensive here are sold in 6 or 8 oz. cartons. That works for me. I can put grapes in a salad too so they do work and I can buy them in any amount.

  3. Elyse says:

    It’s always money well spent. Tasty and healthy. Win-win

Leave a Reply

