Excuse me? Are you local?

This was a question thrown at me when I came out of a shop on the High Street this afternoon.
The young man thrust his hand at me to shake mine, drawing me towards his board and the different kinds of wildlife thereon.

It would appear that the days of the donation bucket or rattling of a tin for coins is a thing of the past as the pitch was to get me signed up for a regular donation to a well known wildlife animal charity.
wild-posterDon’t get me wrong, I have a lot of time for nature, wildlife and animal welfare.
Living on the marina we see a fair amount first hand, but obviously none of the more exotic and endangered species like tigers, pandas or rhinos.

In truth, I donated to this charity many years ago following their promotional visit at work, my direct debit being ‘gift aided’ so as not to attract taxation at the other end.
I was promised a magazine twice a year, and regular email updates on my chosen ‘animal’.
There was no cute cuddly toy at that time, not that I would have wanted one, as quite honestly I think the money on the production of such novelties could be better spent on the living animals concerned.

I paid into this charity for over 7 years because I believed in it, then following redundancy, it was one of the expenses I had to cut as I could no longer afford it.
Having heard very little since my initial contribution, let alone any magazines or emails, the organizers soon jumped on me for stopping my payments.

I appreciate it can be a thankless task approaching people in the street with the hope of them filling in the relevant forms to set the financial aid ball rolling.
However, for people on limited  budgets who cannot afford to donate on a regular basis, it would be so nice if there was a collection tin on the table for loose change and odd coppers.
collections

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in animals and pets, Just a thought, miscellaneous, nature, Opinions, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Excuse me? Are you local?

  1. I agree with you. Most of the charities are trying to get a regular monthly donation as it helps them to budget better. I prefer to do a larger one towards the end of the year when I know what I can give. They still keep on calling.

    • It’s always easier to budget when you know exactly what is coming in and you can plan accordingly. I do it all the time, preparing as far in advance as I can for the big bills I know will have to be paid each year (mooring fees, local taxes, car and boat maintenance etc). We do pretty well, but there’s not much left over, and as some charities may be asking for a minimum donation of say £25 a month, that is actually my average monthy electricity or a week’s shopping. We do what we can when we can though, it’s just not all the time.

  2. Ritu says:

    Oh I agree!!!!

  3. It has been my experience that donation cups, the money deposit often end up in someone’s pocket, not the charity. Not necessarily the person collecting, but someone higher up the chain. I saw it happen more than once

  4. I agree with you on so much of this – the “prizes/gifts” eat away money that could be going to the charity instead. We cannot afford a monthly donation, but I do try to help locally with local charities with writing/editing/marketing if they need it, or sorting stuff or the like when I can – and when we have a bit to spare. Limited budgets are the reality for so many of us now.

Leave a Reply

