Food Post

Yesterday’s chicken curry dinner was one of my best, and almost syn free.

My additional ingredients to the chicken breasts to serve the two of us were:

a red pepper I’d forgotten,
a large onion,
3 cloves of garlic,
1oz of sultanas  1 syn
4 sliced closed cup mushrooms
1 teaspoon brown sugar 1 syn

1 chicken stock cube
1 teaspoon
cornflour ½ syn
curry powder to suit personal palette

Served on
one cup of rice (Hubby)
jacket potato with side salad (me)

Luxury of desiccated coconut sprinkled on top 1 syn max

Result:
chicken-curry-2 chicken-curry

Here are a couple of other things we’ve had recently:
open-mushroom-omelette Open mushroom omelette (1 syn for mayo)

For a change, I served Hubby his meringue dessert like this:ginger-meringue-nests ginger-meringues
Ginger meringue nests
9½ syns for the two as I used one crushed gingernut biscuit
(2½ syns) and 2 chopped apricots (1 syn each) for the topping. The filling is natural quark.

My sweet tooth is making its presence felt at the moment so I am sticking to crushing a single meringue nest with fresh fruit and quark. Apricots are my B option and the gingernut biscuit is optional if I have syn leeway.
So far though, I have not weakened and joined Hubby in bars of chocolate. I can even walk down the confectionery aisle in the supermarket now without crying or listing towards the shelf.
sweet tooth
We are however playing scrabble tonight which means a dip into prawn crackers (not prawn crackers in a dip, just crackers at 6½ syns for 25g).

Back to extra mileage on my walks,  fruit salads
fruit salad sweet NO! Not those!!!
and veggies tomorrow thru Monday!

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in food, recipes, weight issues and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Food Post

  1. Can I come and live with you, pretty please?? That all looks so delicious 🙂

  2. PS: I adored black jacks and fruit salads (10 for a penny when I was younger) when I was a kid! (actually, I still could polish off a packet if they were sat in front of me) x

Leave a Reply

