Second Course weigh in: Week Five

It’s been a fruity week as I’d been preparing myself for Synful Saturday’s Hog Roast.
Looking back over my diary, I’ve kept my syns in check otherwise, and have even had something different on the menu.

Coming back from MOH last weekend, I asked Hubby if he’d like a fish cake and chip supper, but he declined as he wanted to be supportive (bless him).
My mind kept drifting to the image of a beautiful cod fillet, with clean, crisp white flakes of flesh that fell away from the fork at the touch of a tine.
fish and chipsOf course such delights have to be planned for (you can keep the chips by the way), so I looked fish up in the SW book and was surprised that a 100g cod fillet in batter has less syns than one in breadcrumbs. OK, only half a syn, but they all count! Even so, it still took two thirds of my daily syn allowance in one hit, so we moved on to plan B.
plan aHubby has a problem with fish (no, not catching them) insomuch as most don’t agree with him and so we are down to the single option of 100% cod. He is OK with fish cakes though as they are mostly potato, but fish on its own, well, it’s a bit fishy iffy.
So we decided to have fish fingers on Friday, with peas and new potatoes in their skins as I had some to use up.

Like traditional custard, I cannot cook frozen peas for love nor money. They stay hard and Hubby could use them in his rifle for ammunition. Therefore we’d buy tinned garden peas but they always seem to look a little ‘grey’ and somewhat divided (ie. split or shucked) on the plate. I like my greens green, and as it happened, the supermarket had a pack of fresh peas and carrots reduced on the shelf which found their way into my shopping basket.

I also fancied parsley sauce, but Hubby doesn’t like it.
Herbs and spices are free with SW, so as I used milk from my A option allowance and just one teaspoon of flour, my sauce only had one syn. It came out a little too thick, so I will have to reduce the flour next time.
fish-fingersThis was therefore a 7 syn dinner as fish fingers have 2 each and there is a third one lurking under the carrots and peas.
The Captain’s best in breadcrumbs, I cooked them in the frying pan with no oil or fat, (setting the new smoke alarm off, sigh) turning them often.
The potatoes, carrots and peas were all done in the same saucepan.

So, here we are at crunch time and the weekly enquiry as to how did I do.
The guide scales were undecided, so I am prepared for a small gain or staying the same.
Every action has a reaction, and that little Piggy on Saturday may have knocked the stuffing out of my calculations.

Well, staying the same means no gain, and I must admit I am quite pleased.
C had a small gain and discovered that the bottle of fruit cordial she was drinking on Saturday had more syns in it than her normal wine. N on the other hand lost another pound and a half, and is well on her way to a total loss of 3 and a half stone!

Now at the start of a new week with no social events on the calendar, I can plan my days and vary my meals as they have all been pretty samey this week (2 fruit and one salad).
I’m looking forward to cereal with fruit for breakfast again, and tomorrow’s main meal is going to be a spaghetti bolognese, similar to this.  I can hardly wait!
spag bol

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in Weight Programme and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Second Course weigh in: Week Five

  1. On the SW wagon myself, well technically it’s a trike as I can never keep 4 wagon wheels rolling, unless they are headed for my belly! Loving your blog.

    • Good for you. I never thought it would work for me, but I was wrong. How long have you been going, how are you doing and have you got a lot to lose?

      • Thanks 🙂 Set a target of 2-4 stone, have lost just over one, and hit the plateau stage (hmmm should be renamed the gateaux stage methinks). I think I reached that in 6 months, so half the year the girl did good, then the cake monster took over the other 6 months. This is the way I think the battle of the bulge will go, 50/50 split for the year! Currently stuffing face with Doritos as I type (guess which half of the year it is?) Actually, I figure that it is better to let the munch monster loose towards the winter months, as the extra padding comes in handy with the snow 😉 (that is my excuse and I’ll be sticking by that for now). Thanks for the follow, and I look forward to keeping up with your wonderful blogs. (It’s all a bit new to me). You may inspire me to have a good week next week, but for today, its blow out night here x

      • We can still have the naughty stuff if we’re careful……. I’ve just had 2 meringues, 2 gingernuts, quark, raspberries and 2 chopped dried apricots for dessert after spag bol. Spag bol was ‘free’ and made from scratch (no cheese added this time), and the dessert a synful 12. But it is the only syns I’ve had today so well within my quota. Prawn crackers on Friday night as it’s scrabble night. Six and a half syns for 25g, but that’s quite a large handful. Looking forward to stews…. and crusty bread (now that’s synful, but I’ll pass on the butter to show willing!)

  2. Some meal variation is not a bad thing!

Leave a Reply

