Less fat means cold feet!

Hubby said once that I’d make a good Eskimo wife as I am generous with my time and hospitality. In a way, it was a polite way of telling me I had ample extra yardage to keep me warm in the colder months. It’s always been a private joke between us that he goes to bed with a hot woman every night, and has a hot water bottle in winter that never goes cold.
hot water bottleSorry to say, it’s that time of year when colder times are coming, and we are in the process of washing the summer bedding for the last time before sealing it away and swapping it for our winter duvet.

Once was a one-off, twice coincidence, but last night was the third in less than a week that we have got cold during the night. Even Maggie moved higher up the bed to wedge herself neatly under her blanket and against the cushions between me and the boat hull.
Digital CameraThese are my mother’s tapestries which we took out of their frames and put on cushion covers. At night, we pull the mattress away from the wall and put the cushions alongside to help with airflow.

The thing is, having lost my weight, I have reduced my BMI by 5 points, and thus my fat reserves. This is great for my health issues, but it means I am now feeling the cold!
If Hubby gets too cold during the night, he wakes up, and if he can’t get his feet warm, he’ll get up to make himself a cup of tea before coming back to bed and snuggling his cold self against a warm me. It’s never bothered me, in fact I get some perverse pleasure about cold hands on my back, but then I suffer from back problems so the cold helps relieve the discomfort in my muscles.

I have no intention of letting the weight creep back on, and tomorrow is the annual Hog Roast here on the marina.
hog roast 2We missed it last year as we were visiting MOH and by all accounts it was not as good as in previous years. We have purchased a ticket for MSM as well to thank her for her support and looking after Maggie for us, and are all looking forward to an enjoyable night, hopefully along similar lines to the BBQ earlier in the year.
Therefore I shall be having the bare minimum tomorrow before feast time so that I can enjoy myself, and the food, without having to worry too much about syns.
Much as I love crackling, my old teeth can’t handle it, so that’s one temptation out of the way. The meat will be served in rolls, so each is 4 syns, and if there is apple sauce, well, that will also have to be accounted for. If there is a dessert on offer, I’m sunk as it’s unlikely I will decline!
However, I am not going to let it ruin or rule my evening, and if I’m sensible, the syn count shouldn’t be too high. If so, I can hopefully recover over the next three days until weigh in.
No doubt Maggie will also be forever hopeful that something will fall in her lap, or that someone will take pity on her having perfected recently the pathetic look
‘They don’t love me. They don’t feed me. I’m so hard done by and I know you’d like to help make me feel better.’
MSM falls for it every time, even buying special (human) biscuits for her and breaking them up in her pocket thinking we won’t notice!
maggie and cushion

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in food, life afloat, Marina and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Less fat means cold feet!

  1. colinandray says:

    As yummy as crackling is, and I remember it so well, isn’t it 100% pork fat cooked until crisp!!!!! May be appropriate to decline and walk away very fast! 🙂

  2. I am thin and have low blood pressure so you can imagine how cold I get. Even when it’s 75 degrees outside, I may have a sweater or hoodie on. My feet are like ice cubes at night. However once I fall asleep I get warm. I usually wake up with my feet sticking out of the blankets. I’ve given up trying to figure it all out and just go with the flow. I love your “ample extra yardage” expression. Have a great time at the roast!

Leave a Reply

