Devastated

Definition as per The Free Dictionary
1. To lay waste; destroy.
2. To overwhelm; confound; stun: was devastated by the rude remark.

Everyone is different and something that appears devastating to one person may seem trivial to another. Support and compassion are paramount, be it from family, friends or even strangers, but at a time when we need it most, it’s reassuring to know someone is in your corner.
For the purpose of this post, I am not thinking about grief, natural disasters, war or financial ruin, but more of an emotion we feel at some time or another in our lives.

sw quoteLast week, there were several gains in our SW group amongst the high losses, and most took it in their stride.
As is the norm, our consultant involves everyone, loss or gain, but always stresses the success to date in cases of the latter.
When it came to the turn of a young Mum of 2 who had gained a pound and a half, she burst into tears, and our consultant was mortified.
The girl said she was devastated as she had done everything by the book, and could not understand having gained that much.
It was suggested maybe she had tried too hard, not eaten enough, or drunk too much water which led to water retention, all of which are quite common reasons behind a gain.
The support in group was tremendous, and within five minutes she was smiling through her tears and taking on board some of the tips offered.
weight-quote-2I knew exactly how she felt, and remembered only too well my days with The Opposition, where I religiously weighed and measured everything, denied myself even the slightest ‘treat’ and being gutted when the scales either ignored my efforts or I was given the consolation prize of ‘You’ve lost a quarter’.  Funny how four weeks of losing said quarter never amounted to a pound. It was soul destroying, so I stopped going.
sw-quote-3
Close to tears myself the previous week with my gain, I had the support of the group and my two friends, which helped strengthen my resolve to DO BETTER.
Support is not just for when things go right but when they don’t or hit a glitch in the agenda or master plan.
No-one likes to be told they’re fat or obese, and hiding behind the self jokes or put-downs doesn’t begin to ease the pain or our lack of confidence. When you throw into the equation not fitting the mould someone else wants us to, it can become a vicious circle of demoralization and lack of self-worth. I can speak from first hand experience on this.
Arm candy I am not, but this time, the weight loss is FOR ME, and I am so lucky that Hubby loves me for the person I am, double chins and bulges or not, and not for the outside wrapping. He is always teasing that his investment is shrinking, but is always telling me how proud he is of me and how far I have come over these past few months.

I never thought being part of a weight loss group would be beneficial to me, and I have to say I was so very, very wrong.
Last night, our young mum weighed in with a three and a half pound loss, and achieved her three stone certificate.
So once again it proves that having one small gain doesn’t mean you’ve failed.

sw-quote-5Note:
N has done remarkably well and is currently just two pounds away from achieving her three stone certificate. Already she has dropped two dress sizes, and her confidence has increased.

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in food, friends, Just a thought, miscellaneous, Opinions, weight issues and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Devastated

  1. joyroses13 says:

    Great attitude to have, keep it up! Having a support group is always a help! Love the quote about the other 3 tires.

Leave a Reply

