Sail Away

It must be every boater’s nightmare to be caught in the wind whilst trying to moor up and watch their boat sail (or in our case drift) off across the water WITHOUT THEM.

Thus was the case on our second morning when having successfully gone through the deepest lock on the river, Hubby got caught short for the loo on the other side.
Knowing there was a supermarket here, loos, and boating facilities of water and an elsan point, we decided to stop, and that was when our troubles began.

Hubby brought her in but as I alighted to get a rope, the wind caught us and I was alone on the shore. Hubby controlled the boat to have another go, but I still couldn’t reach a rope and had forgotten to bring the boat hook with me, so Hubby threw it like a javelin.
I latched onto the bow line whilst Hubby struggled to control her, shouting instructions at me which were lost in the wind.
I could not tie off for love nor money, and the boat swung out yet again almost taking me with it.
I got in one helluva mess, everything deserting my panicked mind, and Hubby getting angrier and more frustrated because he could do nothing to help me.
There were 4 other boats moored up but no-one was around to help, so we were on our own.

I eventually tied a ‘ what the hell is that!’ knot which at least held until Hubby could swing the helm in and secure the rear. I was shaking like a leaf, highly embarrassed and feeling totally inept, stupid and useless.
With the boat secure and me gathering my shattered wits as I sat on the bed, Hubby marched up to the gents.
pershore recWhen he got back, I had a cuppa waiting after which I went for a walk to do some ‘bun’ shopping and pick up some extra fruit and meat for sandwiches. I also bought some chocolate, of which I had a 28g bar (7½ syns). It didn’t make me feel better.

After apologising profusely for letting the side down, Hubby attached a cord to his knee and using our long-handled dustpan and brush as a mooring post, encouraged me in speed knots. Trees and rabbits were not mentioned, but up and under, over and through echoed through the boat for at least an hour. Then it was time for the BIG BOYS and doing it for real outside.
I got the hang of it, but we decided to stay put for the night as the wind had picked up again and we knew that at least 2 of the locks on the way to Offenham were swines for cross winds.
The forecast mentioned rain for the next two days, so we had visions of going back earlier than anticipated, which we weren’t very happy about.
On a good day though, the river is quite pretty.
final night pershore upriver pershore last night downriver
View up river from mooring                            View down river towards lock from mooring.

All photos from our Stratford Trip 2015.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in current events, life afloat, My life, narrow boat, Voyages and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sail Away

  1. colinandray says:

    Everybody I have known in boating has screwed up at some point. The principal of the Naval College I attended was standing out on the bowsprit of our training vessel (a 3-masted Ketch) as we entered Cardiff docks. He was showing off! We all laughed when he slipped and fell into the dock!
    A work colleague decided to show off how good he was with his boat. He brought into its berth a little too fast; slammed the engine into reverse… but it died; we were traveling at a sufficient speed that around 6 feet of his boat ended up resting on the grassed river embankment.
    What you guys managed to do between you was pretty mild considering what some of the alternatives could have been. Learn from it and move on. C’est la vie! 🙂

  2. I knew you would come back with some good stories! I know that feeling of utter helplessness and stupidity. It happens.

  3. If it is any consolation, my mom once got caught with one leg on the boat and one on the dock, like something out of a movie. It is now one of our favorite boating memories!

  4. scifihammy says:

    This sounds really hair-raising! That is such a big boat, I am sure Anyone would have struggled, as it is totally impossible to pull it in – after all, you are not one of those massive barge horses they used to have! Still, I suppose learning a few extra knots can’t go amiss. 🙂

    • We have seen other boats struggling, and they are heavier than us at 30 plus tons (we are just over 6). Hubby showed me a simple way to take the strain off me and transfer it to a mooring post with a simple loop. I did it without thinking when we moored up at Comberton. Mind you, having no wind at the time probably helped!

      • scifihammy says:

        Well this is it – easier with no wind trying to blow your boat away! 🙂
        You’ll get there and it will all become second nature 🙂 At least you are out there trying 🙂

Leave a Reply

