Seven Day Spread

I have been determined to lose not only the pound and a half gain from last week, but a bit more besides.
How better to encourage sticking to the plan than by publishing my week!
I have deliberately not bought biscuits or meringue nests, and modified my food diary to include my walks, aiming for at least two miles a day, even in the pouring rain!

pork mince peach and kiwi salad

Wednesday’s
main meal was a pork mince (5% fat) dish with carrots, onions, button mushrooms, garlic and tomatoes. I served Hubby’s with rice but had a salad and jacket potato with mine.  This ticked the boxes of speed foods and protein, and NO SYN VALUE as I used the stock from the pork mix as a dressing on my salad.

Not wishing to go completely cold turkey in respect of dessert, I sliced 2 kiwis and a peach, added a dollop of plain quark, and sprinkled some granola on the top. The granola equated to just 2 syns, the rest being speed food and ‘free’.

My total syns for the day were 11½, made up as follows:
latte coffee (take out breakfast walking the dog)                  
note:
lean bacon roll, bacon being free, roll my B option
granola sprinkles                                                                           2
6 dried apricots                                                                          6

Distance walked (dog walk/Avenue/supermarket/car park) 5 miles.
divider small
breakfast 2 ham salad

Thursday’s main meal was a ham salad and jacket potato. I synned to the tune of 2 with my mayo, but other than that it ticked all the right boxes.
We had a late start to the day though, so had a cooked breakfast of ham, scrambled eggs, tomatoes and button mushrooms.
All free, and the tomatoes and mushrooms were speed foods, so ticks there as well.

My total syns for the day were 12½ as follows:
Mayo                                                                                          2
Crackers (4 x 1½)                                                                     6
Milk (as I had cheese for my A option)                               1½
2 squares chocolate (honest)                                                  3

Distance walked five miles again (up to and around town/Avenue/car park/dog walk).
divider small
hoi sin chicken kiwi dessertFriday’s main meal was a chicken breast on rice plus carrots, green pepper, tomato and onions with a hoi sin and garlic sauce. I cheated with the sauce but checked it out on SW’s site before I had any and the 120g pouch equated to 6½ syns. As I put more on Hubby’s chicken (he only had rice with his) I’ve counted my share as 3 syns.
I added some raspberries to the kiwis this time with the quark.
Milk was my A option and 6 sliced dried apricots on my cereal was my B.

Total syns for the day were 14½ as follows:
Cereal (larger portion)                                                             7

Hoi Sin sauce                                                                             3
2 ryvita and light cheese triangle                                          4½

We walked up to the supermarket again today, plus the Avenue and general car park visits, which all nicely added up to another 4½ miles.
divider small
Weekends are always difficult as it’s those inbetween days, and for some reason routine and meal planning go out of the window.
tomato and green pepper pastaSaturday was extremely wet as forecast, so after doing our shopping we stayed home and the danger signals were flashing rampantly as boredom set in and with it the munchies.
The main meal of the day was a tomato and green pepper pasta with garlic and onions.
I had just a few tubes of pasta mixed in with my salad plus a jacket potato and a sprinkling of cheese, so ticks in all the right places. I also had plenty of fruit.
I chose cheese for my A option, and 2 ryvita for my B.

Total syns for the day were 13 as follows:
Cheese triangle                                                                         
Milk                                                                                             
Prawn crackers (35g)                                                               10

Despite the lousy weather, we managed to walk 3 miles.

ham stir fry apricot peach and kiwi dessert
Sunday
Hubby had ham and baked beans with his jacket potato for his main meal whereas I had a ham salad and stir fry veg with mine.
The weather was dry but overcast, so we had some good walks, clocking up a total of
4½ miles.

Option A was milk, and Option B 6 dried apricots which I chopped up with my fruit salad to make it look more.
Syns for the day were 13½ as follows:
Granola cereal                                                                     5
Small bite of Hubby’s sticky bun                                      5 approx
Latte coffee out                                                                   3½
divider small
egg salad 2 kiwi and peach dessert
Monday, penultimate day to weigh in.
Option A was the 350ml of milk, and I chose apricots again for my B which I had sliced on my cereal.
Main meal of the day was a McCheese for Hubby, but I decided to mix some boiled pasta with my salad and have eggs instead with a jacket potato, thus hitting an SP day of speed food and protein. As there was no juice to drizzle over my salad, I had 3 syns worth of mayo.
I sprinkled some cinnamon over the fat free yoghurt on my fruit salad to give it added flavour.

Syns for the day were 12½ as follows:
Granola cereal                                                                 5
Mayo                                                                                3
2 ryvita and 1 cheese triangle                                       4½

Distance walked 4 miles
divider smallWeigh In Day, Tuesday.
Always a stumbling block, and looking back on last week, I’d made the mistake of having quite a large lunch of ham salad with beetroot and a jacket potato (below).
ham and beetroot saladSo instead,
I have had a cooked breakfast of ham, scrambled eggs, tomatoes and mushrooms and planning a light lunch of ryvita, cheese triangle and some fruit.
If I’m hungry when I get back tonight, I can have a fat free yoghurt.
I’ve chosen milk for my A option and bread for my B.

I’ll ensure my total syns are within my 15 allowance including:
cheese triangle                                                                1½
oil for cooking my fried bread (max)                           6 **
2 ryvita                                                                             3

Walking distance will be at least three miles, as it will include the Avenue, car park visits during the day, and the half mile walk up to the library for my meeting.

All I can do now is hope my efforts will be rewarded, and will be reported later in my weigh in post.

**
Fried bread.
I chose bread for my B option today so that I could enjoy it fried with my breakfast this morning. Oil is synful to the tune of 2 syns per teaspoon, or 6 for a tablespoon so I rarely cook with it.
I used a teaspoon to dribble the oil on each side of the bread spreading it as evenly as possible with a knife rather than putting the oil in the pan as that tends to use more.
I’ve allowed 6 syns to be on the safe side (though the thought of a ‘heaped’ teaspoon of liquid is an interesting concept).

 

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in food, weight issues and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Seven Day Spread

  1. stevetanham says:

    My wife is reading these avidly! Good stuff…

  2. colinandray says:

    Just a thought: Your cooked breakfast (I assume) was done in a frying pan…. so did you add an oil or similar? Assuming yes, how does that impact a weight loss program?

Leave a Reply

