Almost weakened……………

Hubby still laughs at me when I see Syn values on the supermarket shelf instead of biscuits, chocolate, cakes, desserts, and more recently, cereal bars.
One of our supermarkets had a special offer (they’re a killer aren’t they ?) a fortnight ago on meringue nests.  Normally £1.18 for a box of 8,  two boxes were offered for £1.50.
How could I resist, knowing Hubby loved them, I knew the syn value and how versatile they were, and they ticked the box (excuse pun) for a sugar fix.

meringue nests
Ah, but three trips and 6 boxes later, maybe not such a good idea, though all those that found their way across my taste buds were accounted for.

A friend has recommended certain chewy cereal bars, but I have been wary after purchasing some of the SW range and having that gain last week. However, I checked them out and they have either 4 or 4½ syns per 30g bar depending on which variety you choose.
That isn’t bad when you consider SW’s are 3 syns for a 20g bar or 6 syns if you have their delicious salted caramel bar.

special offer

The other day the flashy sticker SPECIAL OFFER leapt out and smacked me in the face from the chiller cabinet. OK, I leaned in for a closer look, and found myself making lustful goggle eyes at a three pack of individual cheesecakes for 89p. Flavours available were lemon, strawberry, toffee or blackcurrant, all tantalizing tasty and yearned for.
Have I mentioned I love cheesecake? Any cheesecake, frozen, chilled or homemade, I’ll sample it. When in NZ, my sister-in-law’s brother-in-law made the most delicious cheesecake of which I had third and fourth helpings. Cheesecake is probably my favourite dessert. If it’s on the restaurant menu, I’ll have it. You can keep the cream, just the cheesecake please, and no. I don’t mind what flavour………..
But I digest digress.

I was brave.
I was strong.
I was in control.
I refused to be wasn’t tempted and before I embarrassed myself by drooling,  put them back.

Back at the boat, my fingers were so fast logging into the SW website, I almost got friction burns.
Oh, I am SO glad I did, and Will Power is once again my champion.
will powerEach 100g pot is extremely sinful, even Madam Sin (Cynthia Payne: 24 Dec 1932 – 15 Nov 2015) herself would have been impressed:
Lemon cheesecake 14½ syns, strawberry cheesecake 13 syns, toffee cheesecake 15½ syns, and the blackcurrant cheesecake had 14 syns.
Bloody Hell, Ouch, How Many??, Holy Moly.

Pass me a doughnut somebody, I need reviving and 9½ I can handle!
jam doughnuts

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in food, humour, observations, shopping, tongue in cheek and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Almost weakened……………

  1. colinandray says:

    How about a very plain cheesecake, with just a drizzle of Bailey’s over it! Syns or Sins?

  2. Awww … well done for the amazing will power! I probably would have had that cheesecake while running on the treadmill .. hehe …

  3. You are so funny about your syns!

Leave a Reply

