On my own

Hubby has gone to do a little job for a fellow boat owner before she goes off on a trip tomorrow. Apparently the professional guy who fitted some runners in her boat has left the square ends jutting out and our friend keeps catching her clothes or hands on them.
Hubby has made two little curved doughnuts out of a scrap of wood and varnished them, so has gone down to fit them for her.
He’s also been asked by another boater to look at a bilge pump which needs replacing so I am here on my own, singly, alone, by myself, in solitude, unaccompanied and in one-ness.
maggie and cushionOf course I have My Girl for company, but she was sick in the night so we are having a quiet day and I’m letting her sleep. Saying that though, she is likely to rouse shortly and want her second walk but that won’t be a problem and I’ll take her round the Avenue which will be our second mile of the day.

As I look at her sleeping beside me, I can see how she is beginning to show her age.
Her snout has been flecked with grey for a while, but new patches have appeared around her eyes, giving her a somewhat salt and peppered look.
In her dreams, she still chases the rabbits or whatever doggies chase when their feet start to twitch and go through the running motions. In her waking hours, she and the rabbits have an understanding, and smile at each other in passing.
At times, the back leg lifts almost at right angles to her flank, gradually and gently slipping down to go up again in several repetitions. Barney used to do the same with his front legs, so we called this The Titanic position.

Sometimes she whimpers, and I read somewhere that one should not wake a dog from a nightmare. I simply put my hand gently on her back, and eventually she relaxes, the whimpering stops, and she continues to doze. She is comfortable and secure in her world, so I’m not going to disturb her.
sleeping maggie sept 2016 2 sleeping maggie sept 2016

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in Dogs, Maggie, observations and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to On my own

  1. colinandray says:

    She looks such a part of the boat there. Very relaxed! πŸ™‚

  2. Sometimes my cats will twitch when they sleep (one even snores). I started Morgan one time and was rewarded with a whacked head as she leaped up. Now I admire from a distance. There is something very peaceful about a happy sleeping pet who is (hopefully) not worrying about predators.

  3. scifihammy says:

    Love how she cuddle her tail πŸ™‚

  4. She’s a beauty. ☺

  5. So you get to have some ME time too then πŸ™‚

    • Indeed. I get Me Time walking the dog sometimes, Hubby has been helping people out or sometimes wants to shop for something himself, so it all works quite well. The good thing is we know it’s only a temporary separation!

  6. Barb Knowles says:

    “The Titanic” I laughed out loud!

  7. Dog dreams are the best – I would love to know what is going on in Choppy’s head when her feet start going and the dream barks start.

Leave a Reply

