Shrinking Violet

The promised rain has finally arrived, and I was tempted to go out in it and pray for body shrinkage.
shrunkSadly, things like that only happen to clothes, and we all swear blind that it’s not us expanding but what we wear diminishing in the wash.
Most of my readers know I hate shopping, especially for clothes or shoes, but sometimes I feel a little dishabby (a cross between dishevelled and shabby) which calls for certain loved worn out items to hit the bin and be replaced.
clothes shoppingA week or so ago I purchased new joggers and tee shirts (all mens) in a smaller size.
Hubby and I wear the same so it cuts down on wardrobe space as we are I suppose ‘Unisex’ wearers. I do draw the line at underwear though, as his Ys do nothing for me and he’d look ridiculous in frillies (if I wore them you understand).

Now get that vision out of your head and read on.

We were coming back from walking the dog yesterday when one of our boating friends called after us holding a rather large carrier bag.
Very discreetly, and emphasising that she hoped I wouldn’t be offended,  she said she was having a clear out and as I was shrinking and she wasn’t, would I like to have a look.

I have no problems at all with wearing second-hand clothes (especially as a lot are things I would never have originally been able to afford), but this lady is considerably smaller than me in all directions, and when she mentioned ‘Size 14’, I said I didn’t think anything would fit as I was an 18, if not a 20, but thanked her for her kind thought.
She said to have a look anyway, and to return what was of no use to put with the rest of the stuff allocated for the charity shop in town.

As soon as we’d cleared the hatch into the boat, Hubby demanded a fashion show.
Reluctantly, I emptied the bag and took off my tee shirt.
Inside were a dozen tops, either tee shirts or shirt style blouses, in sizes 14 and medium.
The first one I tried on was too tight across the shoulders, so I wasn’t really surprised.
The green vest fitted OK though, and even better it was nice and long to cover my backside. Clothes manufacturers these days seem to think female waists begin under our boobs or armpits, as ‘longer length’ tends to just clear my naval.

I put it to one side, and tried on another. That too fitted as it was the same style.
Hubby was pleased.
The buttons and button holes on the blouse I tried on next were destined to be forever apart, so that went on the reject pile, which was a shame as it was rather pretty.
The next tee shirt was a good fit, but the following two were not my colours and were tight in the arm.
There were two blouses next on the bed, and holding them up I saw Size 14 on the label so thought ‘No Chance’. But I tried them on anyway, and was amazed how comfortable they were.
I kept them both as with the vests I can wear them open like a jacket on cooler evenings.

fashionIn all, I kept five, and feel on top of the world just as I did when I bought my jeans a few years ago. They were a size 16, and the last pair I’d bought years before were a 20 and too small, but I didn’t have the heart (read embarrassed of my size) to take them back.

Note:
Clothes sizing in the UK is always changing, and I’m not kidding myself that I could go into one of the popular fashion chains, select a size 14 off the rack, and it would fit.
It’s not just size that counts, it’s the fabric/material, style and cut.
I’m so lucky to have such a thoughtful neighbour. Thank you.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in clothes, humour, Just a thought, people, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Shrinking Violet

  1. I had a hard time getting past the unisex underwear visual. However, after I did I was hoping you would try them on. Sizes are “suggestions.” My recent purchase was a size 4 and I also have some size 8. Size 6 is my normal but as you say cut, manufacturer, fabric all come into play. It’s like Christmas!

    • Haha Kate. I try to make my readers smile and thought that line would do it!
      I am so pleased though. I think the last time I got into a size 14 was at school. It’s given my confidence a lttle boost after last week’s hiccough.

  2. Victo Dolore says:

    That is my favorite kind of clothing “shopping”… From a bag of freebies donated to me in the privacy of my own home.

  3. What a great idea for her to share. 💖 And about those sizes…I have kept a lot of clothes over the years, and I have from size 6 to size 16, all of which I can still wear at times. It’s ridiculous what women go through in the garment world. Different shops…different fit for the same sizes. I like men’s shirts and sweaters. They are sized better, and last much longer. ☺

    • I agree about the mens clothes, which is why I wear the same as Hubby. They are more generous where it counts with tee shirts as well as length with joggers, even allowing for shrinkage!

  4. scifihammy says:

    That’a great that so many clothes fitted 🙂
    You’re right about the sizes, which is why trying anything on in a shop takes so long – you have to take in three different sizes and hope One fits!

  5. The size on clothings doesn’t mean much justa guide. Different manufacturers have strange ideas about women sizes.

  6. joyroses13 says:

    Good for you! Got a chuckle from what you said about your unisex underwear 🙂 Keep going, your doing great!

  7. I stopped looking at the size tags years ago. I just buy whatever fits, no matter. And I won’t tell you what my “normal” size is – let’s just say I totally relate, probably even more so than you.

  8. How wonderful to get some ‘new’ things without having to expend much effort! And it’s not just the UK that has constantly changing sizes – it happens in the U.S. as well. Thanks to vanity sizing, I keep getting larger, yet my clothes still stay the same size!

Leave a Reply

