Passing the Time of Day

Too busy, too rushed, can’t catch your breath, never enough hours in the day.
I bet every one of us has been at that stage in our lives at one time or another.
It’s hard to believe that we are in August, at the end of which two thirds of the year will have gone.

Hubby asked me today what we had achieved so far this year, and I had to admit, I was stumped for a reply.
Exactly what have we done with our time.
timeHubby is nearly always the first to get up in the mornings, leaving me and the dog to sleep in until around 8am.
For that hour or so, he makes himself a cup of tea and gets on to his blog, catching up with his reader, adding and answering comments, and writing posts anew. His blog is totally different to mine but I sometimes learn stuff when I read it, though most of the technical content is over my head. But then he knows that.

When us two gals finally surface, it’s a dog walk followed by breakfast. Occasionally we’ll have a fry up, which actually isn’t, as I scramble the eggs and use water instead of fat in my frying pan (unless I’m doing fried bread in which case it’s a drizzle of oil on both sides, and we have half a slice each). These days I’m buying rolls instead as Hubby prefers them.
I fancied a change from crispbreads and bought some cinnamon and fruit bagels, which turned out to be a negative move as they have 11 syns each! Hubby is eating them for me to save me from myself.
On the positive side though, I have had success in the weight loss and hope that will continue, however slowly, in the weeks to come.
I have been trying the recommended SP days, where you fill half your plate with protein and half with speed food. It hasn’t exactly worked out for me this week as I’ve deliberately avoided salad, but I’ll stick at it.

cooked breakfastPhoto:  This is allowed actually, so don’t think I’m cheating!
cooked breakfast, protein (bacon and egg) and speed food (tomato and mushrooms)

This year, we have also helped out friends one way or another (see Frank the Tank), and have managed several visits Down South to see my Mum.
And of course we eventually had our trip to Stratford!

But I think most of us don’t use our time as well as we could, and end up wishing we’d made the effort to do certain things or visit or contact someone.
clockWhen I was working, my time management skills were pretty good, meeting my deadlines and squeezing in a few tasks for my Boss if the need arose. Evenings and weekends were for relaxation but they were never long enough, Mondays coming around way too soon.

Hubby and I lose track of the days now, our calendar being made up of laundry days, filling the water tank and emptying the loo cassette, shopping trips, dog walks, cleaning the boat, maintenance, and the occasional field trip either in the car or going up river.
If the day starts late for us, we are playing catch up throughout and before we know it, it’s time for Maggie’s final wee and bed!
As is often the case in retirement, I wonder how on earth we found the time to work!
to work work

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in diary, food, My life, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Passing the Time of Day

  1. Faced with only one week of vacation left, I find my self wondering what I’ve done with the time I’ve had so far and wondering how I’m going to manage to go back to full-time work. While I’m grateful that I found another decent job, I’m definitely not looking forward to returning to the 9-5, 40-hour work week.

    • I know I couldn’t go back to office work, and not just the hours, so I’m glad I was able to take the early retirement package offered in 2006. I’ve done a couple of quirky jobs since then, including one in a dog kennels!

      • Believe me, if I had any kind of retirement fund, I wouldn’t go back to work. Even cutting back on the few things we buy, I couldn’t support us on Social Security.

      • Both of us have been caught by the extension in state retirement age and so have to wait an additional 6 years. Luckily, we are used to frugal living and both get private pensions now which are enough to trickle by. We couldn’t get help from the State even if we wanted to apply due to additional restrictions and requirements to qualify. It makes me laugh when our governement comes up with savings schemes or thresholds that are more than our joint income!

  2. foguth says:

    I don’t know if your food photos are of dishes you actually prepare or not, but they always look very tasty. Have you thought of compiling a meal ideas book?

    • Most of my food photos are what we have (cue white bowls and purple rimmed plates, or that lovely big orange bowl used for Mc Cheeses at MOH) though for the posher stuff, like the fancy liver and bacon pictures or the green thai curry recently, I get from google. I tend to put my ideas and recipes out on my blog as I don’t weigh anything so they could be hit and miss for other people. I’ve recently started to cost them too because I know several of my readers are on budgets like us or have families to consider. Thank you for thinking so much of my efforts . I really appreciate it. 🙂

      • foguth says:

        I tend to cook for nutrition content and forget about how something looks, except that I also tend to avoid whites and beiges.

      • Oh, visions of batterless fish fillet and mash on a white plate. URGH! I like colour, especially reds and greens, hence plenty of tomatoes and peppers.

  3. I’ve kept my expectations moderate in retirement. I don’t make “stretch goals” preferring to live in the moment and enjoy things like good weather (which has been elusive this year), cats and the pond. I’m so much more relaxed and yes, how did we ever fit in a full time job?

  4. scifihammy says:

    Time sure does fly! 🙂

  5. I have no idea how my parents got anything done while my dad worked – they don’t have time now that he is retired!

Leave a Reply

