Weigh to Go: week eight

Not long to go now before my 12 weeks are up, though technically the first week was an introduction and not a weight loss week, so I will only have eleven ‘results’ posts.
I followed up the possibility of an additional 12 weeks, but it appears that the Council here don’t support an extension programme.
However, if I sign on for 6 more weeks, I only pay for 5, and if I sign on for 12, I only pay for 10. It’s a saving, so I’m likely to do it and go for that extra stone.

This past week has been one of our most varied, but I have been sticking to the plan and eating more than my fair share of fresh fruit and veg.
Apricots, peaches and nectarines are at their cheapest in the shops, all of which are classed as speed foods, unlike bananas, pineapple, kiwis and grapes. A bag of mixed peppers is less than 80p, and in some outlets is one of the week’s ‘specials’ at ony 49p.
dessert day 1Experimentation with desserts to satisfy my sweet tooth has resulted in the purchase of meringue nests, much to Hubby’s delight who has been polishing them off at a ratio of 3 to 1.  Not that I mind, as he’s not particularly ‘fruity’, and I can crush mine up with a gingernut biscuit, add some quark or yoghurt and a sprinkle of granola cereal should I fancy it, and it ticks all the boxes with a minimum of syns.

I have also managed to do much more exercise this week, so that all has to help with toning up. I’ve had a couple of compliments from boaters I haven’t seen for a few weeks and they say they can see a difference. It’s boosted my confidence a lot.

One of the most common habits when on a weight loss programme is to weigh yourself every day. Fluctuations are bound to occur, and although it’s not recommended, I used to do it but only recorded the verdict once a week.
Since the variance in weight from my Doctor, SW and my own scales when I started, for the past three weeks I have taken to weighing myself on a Wednesday morning (after weigh in the night before) and using that as a guide to the following Tuesday morning to see if I’ve had a potential loss or not.
This week, I’ve managed to drop below my personal best in the cottage, so hope come tonight I will still be cheering! To be honest, I don’t think I have lost anything as far as the scales may be concerned, but toning up is inches, and they count too!

My main meal today was a ham, mushroom and egg salad (one syn of mayo) followed by a fat free yoghurt with some raspberries.
ham and mushrooms 2 ham and mushrooms
I couldn’t make up my mind which picture was best, so I’ve put in both.

So: how did I do?
Surprisingly I had a small loss, so I am well pleased. OK half a pound isn’t a lot, but several people stayed the same this week, and at least four had gains. N got her two stone certificate today so we were thrilled for her. Sadly C has hurt her back and had a slight gain as she’s been unable to exercise.
pma quoteHubby has suggested I follow my food diary for my highest loss week and see if that gives me a kick-start again. There is a section on SP days in the SW book where you have half your plate as speed food and the other half as protein. Hubby and I don’t eat a lot of meat as a rule, but there is always McCheese! I have also noticed that we haven’t had jacket potatoes for a while, so I’ll buy some this week and do some savoury fillings.
Time for a bit of a change to keep boredom at bay.

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in Weight Programme and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Weigh to Go: week eight

  1. Capt Jill says:

    congratulations on sticking to it! It seems you’ve had good results, now you just have to make sure you don’t start backsliding. Good luck, I’ll be cheering for you.

  2. What is the fruit/veggie in that first picture?

    • This is one of the meringue nests crumbled up with seedless green grapes, fat free yoghurt (or quark), topped with a sprinkling of tropical fruit granola. In later desserts, I’ve added a crushed gingernut biscuit for added ‘zing’ and used raspberries, strawberries, kiwi, or any other fresh fruit.

  3. Congratulations on taking a step on the journey and finishing it. Please keep the good work up.

  4. Hey, congrats on your hard work! Keep it up!! I’m on the same journey. I usually don’t weigh myself because I get put off. I usually can tell if I’m losing weight by the fit of my favourite clothes. : )

    • Good luck! I weigh myself the morning after weigh in for a start guide, and again the morning of weigh in as my meeting isn’t until the evening, so I like to know if I stand a chance of being disappointed!

Leave a Reply

