Breadless BLT and a Savoury Omelette

Food can become boring, especially if you have the same stuff on the same day every week, or one of you is watching the weight and the other isn’t.

I try to buy things we can both eat and to avoid one meal for Hubby and something different for me. So far, I’ve been managing OK, and we have enjoyed curries, spag bols, McCheese, sweet and sour, and chilli con carne as normal.
Lean bacon is acceptable as a ‘free’ protein food with SW, so I thought Hubby might fancy a BLT for lunch one day.
In case some of my readers aren’t familiar with this, a BLT is a bacon, lettuce and tomato sandwich with or without mayonnaise.
Bread is also on my B list of healthy options, or one slice equates to 4 syns.
**Mayo clocks in at 1 syn per tablespoon.

I made Hubby this beautiful sandwich with crispy lettuce,  juicy tomato and two slices of lovely bacon. He wrapped his mouth round it with relish (no mayo) and savoured every mouthful.

This was my single ** syn with added mushrooms but no bread, served on a plate:
bltIn contrast today (Saturday), Hubby fancied soup and as he loves Scotch Broth and I don’t, he had that and I did a two egg omelette for me.
Eggs are also counted as a free protein food, so I cooked mine in a bowl in the microwave and served it on top of salad with my vegetable medley of carrot, red, green and yellow peppers, onion, garlic and mushrooms.
omelette omelette 2
Just in case you’re wondering, that’s a slice of green pepper on top in the middle!

About pensitivity101

Retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination, loves to cook, favourite food everything especially chocolate and jelly babies. Best friends are Hubby and Dog, Bro, MSM and our Dominoes Friend aka MOH (and his dog). Also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours but times change and we are once again house hunting.
This entry was posted in food, recipes, weight issues and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Breadless BLT and a Savoury Omelette

  1. janegundogan says:

    That salad looks Amazing!

  2. Looks yummy. I really miss being able to eat salads and fresh tomatoes. They used to be my favorite.

Leave a Reply

