Fun and I

Well, not quite, but if you repeat it fast a few times, you’ll get the message.

A little over 2 years ago, I noticed a small nodule on the cuticle of my index finger.
It caused the nail to ‘furrow’ as it grew, but it eventually sorted itself out with no problem at all. Not so this time.

The cuticle looks bruised, and not only do I have a mini canyon developing in the nail, but the growth by the cuticle itself is layered and rippled like the edge of a sea shell.
shell
Hubby had to have a blood test today with the nurse who told me about SW and I went in with him to thank her and let her know how I was doing. She could see a positive change (blush).
As we were leaving, I asked if she thought I needed to see a doctor about my finger, and she said I should to be on the safe side as I was diabetic.

Knowing I was unlikely to be able to see my GP within a month, we drove up to the surgery anyway and I spoke to the receptionist. Explaining I was diabetic and unsure as to whether I had an infection in my finger (diabetics have to look after their feet by the way), she booked me in there and then to see the nurse on duty.
I was seen in less than five minutes, got a second opinion and a prescription in another two, and was back in the car within 10.

I’m still reeling from the speed of it all.
The nail is growing out OK, but it is infected so I have some cream to rub in twice daily.
Rather than give you images of gross manky nails, have a look at some of the pretty stuff.

fungai

 

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in health, Just a thought, observations and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

