Don’t bend me this way

I hobbled into the doctor’s surgery using a pair of sticks donated by Maggie’s surrogate mommy (henceforth referred to as MSM) who also gave me a lecture as she plied me with tea (and I hadn’t done anything bad!).
Hubby and I could give Sar Wars a run for the money with two sticks a-piece as light sabers and a wobbly stance.
light sabersGood news is that everything tested thus far has come back normal.
I took in our BP machine and she was pleased with the readings, so I am on the BP tablets for a while still.
She could see I was in difficulty, so we rolled my trousers up and had the comparison test.
Yep. There was swelling.
Yep. There was inflammation.
Yep. There was definitely a problem.

Then came the bendy part.
I am not, and never have been Twizzle (I still remember Footso’s song).
twizzle and footsoMy knee could bend in some directions, but one in particular brought tears to my eyes, and she identified the problem straight away.
It would appear I have a Meniscus Cartilage Tear (tear in the knee cartilage).
How it happened is anyone’s guess and all I can do is PRICE it.
P       protect against further injury
R       rest
I        ice
C       compression
E       elevation.

I’ve been prescribed painkillers and anti gastric pills to protect my stomach against ulcers from said painkillers. If I still need to take the painkillers in two weeks, I’m to call the surgery to talk to her and she will arrange more blood tests to make sure my kidneys aren’t affected.  Sigh: the knock on effect of certain medication and they wonder why I don’t want to go on statins for my cholesterol.

knee jointSeems once the tear is present, it is unlikely to heal as there is no blood supply there.
However, things will settle down after a couple of weeks all being well.

For the time being, I am answering to the name Hopalong. Only fair as I call Hubby Speedy, and at the moment if we were in a race, he’d win hands, knees and boompsadaisy down!
hands knees and boomps

About pensitivity101

I am a retired number cruncher with a vivid imagination which extends to short stories and poetry. I love to cook and have a terrible sweet tooth for jelly babies or fruit pastilles. Best friends are Hubby, our dog Maggie, Bro in NZ, MSM and MOH (and his dog). I am also a bit of a dog whisperer as I get on better with them than people sometimes! Due to a nightmare of a house sale in 2014, 'Home' was a 41 foot narrow boat until April 2017. We made strong friendships both on and off the water, and enjoyed swan and duck families for neighbours. Sadly times change and we were once again house hunting until September. We now reside in a small bungalow a short distance from the beach on the Lincolnshire coast.
This entry was posted in health, My life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Don’t bend me this way

  1. It’s very common. I’ve had several friends who had a surgical repair with great results. One of my friends did it without surgery and it took a while but she’s good now. Let’s hope your recovery is quick (and enjoy being waited on in the interim).

  2. scifihammy says:

    No wonder you were so sore. 😦
    I hope you heal quickly and feel better soon. Lots and Lots of tea! 🙂

    • and chocolate………….. it’s a natural anti- depressant afterall! Feeling better today, had a good night’s sleep and the painkillers have kicked in already.

  3. amommasview says:

    Oh no! I hope you will feel better soon! Turmeric is fantastic against inflammation. And I agree: Chocolate! You need heaps of chocolate!!!

  4. Pingback: Utter bliss, even if it does hurt! | pensitivity101

Leave a Reply

